Add to Portfolio..

To embed a Soundcloud or Youtube link, simply paste the url below.

Angel Hernández-Lovera

A night on the Danube: A composer´s portrait

    Premiered on
  • July 2, 2021     7:00 PM (UTC+2:00)
  • Wien, Österreich
  • I want to share with you a very special moment for me, where with excellent musicians we will interpret three of my compositions, each one with a story that you can discover with us.
  • for the Unvollendete Erzählungen piece based on Margaret Atwood's book "Stone Mattress" The first three tales of this book are connected by narrations and reflections of a poet’s two wives, and lover.
  • the author tries to tell us the same story, but from the point of view of each character. Musically this narrative technique is used in the development of sound material.
  • The details of the dialogue between a man and a woman are emphasised by the camera positions typical of feature film: expressive close-ups and mid shots in the dialogue between the cello and the piano.
  • Drei Lieder für Mezzosopran und Klavier based on the poetry of Werner Walter Damm combine features of the poetic rhythm and original composition with the visual details of a classical concert recording inclusively the top shot of the piano to highlight the classical setting with a fresh perspective.
  • Eine Nacht an der Donau / A night on the Danube
  • The visual concept of Eine Nacht an der Donau, created together with director Anna Patritsiya, invites the listener to experience a unique audiovisual experience, where the percussive features of the score are enhanced by the contrasting colour scheme and immerse the listener in a meditative state guiding them through all three seminal parts of the work.
  • July 2nd at 7pm


  • Composer
  • Angel Hernández-Lovera
  • Cello - Elio Herrera
  • Piano - Yuliya Draganova
  • Text: Werner Walter Damm
  • Mezzo - Anna Molnar
  • Piano - Luca Lavuri
  • Conductor:
  • Jon Svinghammar
  • Sopran-Vassia Alati
  • Mezzo-Anna Molnar
  • Countertenor- Kevin Elsnig
  • Tenor - Hugo Paulsson Stove
  • Bariton- Alexander Aigner
  • Bass - Andreas Jankowitsch
  • Video Production:
  • Anna Patritsiya
  • Sound recording:
  • Lukas Roth